MediaCurves Forums
MediaCurves Forums : Discuss Studies Regarding Politics, Entertainment, Culture, and More.
Username 
Password

The "Take"

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

A Little Overstatement

While the thrust of Obama's new energy ad (See http://www.mediacurves.com/Politics/J6948-ObamaAd-Pocket/Index.cfm.) is on the right track in terms of the realities of both candidates and presenting the difference in a convincing way, Team Obama has not been as scrupulous as they might have been.

According to Factcheck.org (http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/obamas_overstatement.html) the ad overstates the contributions to the McCain campaign by oil interests. While the Obama campaign has a rationale for their figures, I wish they wouldn't open themselves up to the charge of exaggerating.

Wouldn't they have gotten the same results with the figure of $1.3 million instead of $2 million?

Rev. John McNeill

Methodist Minister

PREVIOUS POSTS

Wednesday, March 17, 2010
Glenn Beck and Social Justice

Monday, November 16, 2009
Billboard Beliefs

Friday, November 13, 2009
Betting on Cowardice Again

Monday, September 7, 2009
Delegitimizing the President

Friday, July 31, 2009
The Shame of Shona Holmes's Story

Friday, July 10, 2009
Celebrity Sinners

Thursday, May 21, 2009
Betting on Cowardice

Friday, April 24, 2009
Miss California Speaks

Thursday, April 23, 2009
Torture is wrong

Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Get a Grip

Friday, April 10, 2009
Family Values

Saturday, March 21, 2009
Fun and Blames

Wednesday, February 11, 2009
Limits of Permissible Speech

Sunday, February 1, 2009
Familiarity, Likeability, Personal Impact

Tuesday, December 30, 2008
European Good -- Arab Bad

Tuesday, December 16, 2008
No one will know so I will do what I want

Tuesday, December 9, 2008
Miracles and Prayer

Wednesday, November 19, 2008
Back to the West Wing

Monday, October 13, 2008
Praying for Victory

Saturday, October 11, 2008
Somebody has to say it

Saturday, October 11, 2008
Pyrrhic Defeat?

Saturday, September 27, 2008
Catching our Breath

Tuesday, September 9, 2008
On second thought...

Sunday, September 7, 2008
Leave Sex Out of It

Tuesday, August 26, 2008
Patriotic Impact?

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
A Little Overstatement

Monday, August 4, 2008
Obama Energy Ad Positive Results More Meaningful

Wednesday, July 30, 2008
Pickens, Obama, and McCain

Thursday, July 24, 2008
What Should Gasoline Cost?

Sunday, July 13, 2008
Disappointing Christians

Tuesday, July 8, 2008
No No No

Thursday, July 3, 2008
The Devil in the Details

Tuesday, July 1, 2008
The More Interesting Result of the Clark/McCain Dust-Up Study

Tuesday, July 1, 2008
Something Else I Do Not Get

Thursday, June 19, 2008
Waste not; want not.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008
This Guy Does Not Get Girl

Monday, June 2, 2008
"Bomb Bomb Bomb, Bomb Bomb Iran," sang Senator John McCain

Friday, May 30, 2008
Rambling about Scott McClellan

Wednesday, May 28, 2008
Heads Up!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008
Irritated

Tuesday, May 27, 2008
What's In A Name?

Wednesday, May 7, 2008
People To See, And Places To Go

Monday, April 28, 2008
Regarding Rev. Wright

All times are Eastern Time. The current time is 11:42 PM.
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-4865898-2"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();